Pumpkin Cheesecake with Caramel Sauce

20 Dec

I have never made a cheesecake before in my life. Ok I made one of those no-bake ones that come in a box once. But that doesn’t count. As soon as I saw this recipe I knew I had to make it. Plus, the recipe was from America’s Test Kitchen so it made it less scary to try.

Before I hunkered down and started making this, I scanned through the recipe to make sure I knew what I was getting into. Honestly, I almost reconsidered the process, even though I’d already bought all the ingredients. It’s because of ATK and their mile-long list of instructions. You’re reading and reading and the process seems more and more daunting and you want to give up before you even try. But, ultimately I decided to suck it up and make it. What else was I going to do with the pound and a half of cream cheese I bought?

For any of you who were intimidated by the long list of instructions, don’t be. It was very simple to follow and actually fairly uncomplicated. In fact, for a recipe like this (i.e. cheesecake) that is known for being temperamental and scary, it’s nice to have step-by-step, thorough instructions.

So what was the final verdict? I thought this cheesecake turned out really well. The crust was especially delicious and the pumpkin filling was not overly sweet or dense. And, although the caramel sauce was not part of the original America’s Test Kitchen recipe, (I saw it paired with a different recipe for pumpkin cheesecake) I thought it was a great finishing touch. The caramel was a nice compliment to the pumpkin flavor and also added a different texture. This was not a fast dessert to make, but definitely worthy of a special occasion.

Pumpkin Cheesecake Recipe

Caramel Sauce Recipe

One Response to “Pumpkin Cheesecake with Caramel Sauce”

  1. Gina Marie December 21, 2010 at 7:15 am #

    That looks so good! I love the addition with the caramel sauce. I’ll have to try that next time. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 88 other followers

