Thai Lemonade

28 Jul

Last night I wanted a non-alcoholic, Asian inspired, summery drink to go with my Chinese Chicken Salad. I thought finding this specific of a request would be nearly impossible. But somehow I lucked out and found this gem. I didn’t have all the exact ingredients on hand, so I just improvised with what I had. I just happened to have a nearly full jug of Simply Lemonade in the fridge, to which I added 5 large leaves of basil (torn) and about 1 teaspoon of fresh ground ginger. I originally put all this stuff in the lemonade jug and shook it up. But, the flavors didn’t mix as well as I hoped, so I put it in the blender and gave it a whirl. This allowed the flavors to meld much better and gave the lemonade a beautiful light green tint. I don’t know that I would do this if you’re using carbonated water as called for in the recipe, but I would definitely recommend this method otherwise.

Anyway, I’ll get to the point. This lemonade was awesome. Not too sweet and not as boring as regular lemonade. And it really didn’t taste as crazy as it sounds. I definitely recommend this one!

p.s. I don’t know if this is actually authentic Thai lemonade. I just gave it that name because it sounded good. Also, taking pictures of beverages is really hard.

Go to Recipe

One Response to “Thai Lemonade”

  1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide July 29, 2011 at 6:31 am #

    Wonderful, we’re definitely drinking as many cold drinks as we can these days.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

