Cinnamon Raisin Bites

28 Jan

I’ve been in the market for some healthy, sugar-free treats that I’d actually want to eat. I saw these come through my Chowstalker feed the other day and immediately put them on my list. They were super easy to make– just throw everything in the food processor (at least that’s what I did) and shape into small bites– and ta da! Delicious, addictive, healthy & sweet snacks at your fingertips! Bonus is, Sylvie LOVES these. Practically begs for them. Fine with me! As for me I’ve taken to eating a few for a quick breakfast. Nice to have something convenient that’s not pre-packaged and full of who-knows-what.

Now I didn’t use any coconut because I didn’t have any on hand, but I’m sure they’d be great with it. To help with the formation of the bites, I used a mini scoop which I’d guess was equal to a level teaspoon in quantity. I thought it was the perfect size, especially if kids will be eating them. And you can’t really “roll” them into balls as the mixture is a bit crumbly. I just squished mine into shape. Anyway, I’m sure these will be a staple around here from now on!

Cinnamon Raisin Bites

Makes about 40 bites

Ingredients 

  • ½ cup walnuts
  • ½ cup raw almonds
  • ¼ cup nut butter
  •  6-7 medjool dates
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon  cinnamon
  • 1 Tablespoon chia seeds
  • ¼ cup of raisins
  • 1/3 cup of finely shredded coconut

Directions

 In a food processor combine all ingredients except coconut and pulse until they are a fine texture.  Mixture should be loose & crumbly but hold shape when pressed together. If it is crumbly add 1 tbsp of water until the right consistency. Using your hands, shape the mixture into bite-size balls (about 1 teaspoon) and press into the coconut flakes. Refrigerate for one hour to set.
Adapted from A Kentucky Spoonful
One Response to “Cinnamon Raisin Bites”

  1. Vinny Grette January 29, 2014 at 7:21 pm #

    I liked this recipe I posted recently… with nut butter and quinoa. Easy and very tasty. Yes it has a little sugar, but put your dates in there instead and voila! I also make use of stevia often instead of sugar. IYI here’s the link – http://cookupastory.wordpress.com/2014/01/07/my-little-nut-trees-almond-cookies/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

