Today’s Special: Turkey Soup, Basil Pesto Pasta, Fajita Burgers, Chicken w/ Chive Sauce, Mediterranean Tuna Panini, and Granola Bars

21 Jun

Turkey Soup– New Recipe. This is the recipe that saved Seth’s wild turkey from culinary disaster (long story short, it was way too salty after I roasted it). This soup helped tone down the saltiness of the turkey a lot and made it not only edible, but incredibly delicious. The recipe name doesn’t sound too fancy, but it was some of the best soup we’ve had in awhile. Definitely a keeper! (p.s. I substituted corn for carrots because I didn’t have any).

Basil Pesto Pasta– New Recipe. This pesto turned out so good! Even better than the stuff in the jar I buy at the grocery store. I have to admit I was a little scared to try it, but I was pleasantly surprised. Very fresh tasting. Oh, I did sub pecans for the walnuts. I also used this on gnocchi instead of regular pasta.

 Fajita Burgers– New Recipe. These were really spicy so watch out if you’re cooking for kids. They were a bit crumbly but I think it was because I didn’t chop up my onions small enough. Seth really liked these, but I thought all the stuff mixed into the burgers was a bit overwhelming. I’d probably tone it down a bit next time. Also, the roasted peppers were good (Seth made them!) but not sure they were worth the effort. I’d suggest using some store bought roasted red peppers in a jar. I think this would actually cut back on the spiciness too. Oh and one more tip: Don’t eat one of these right before you go running. Bleh.

Sauteed Chicken Breasts with Creamy Chive Sauce– New Recipe. This turned out ok… maybe a bit on the bland side. I think it would’ve been better had the sauce simmered longer and/or the flavors had more time to meld. Definitely not bad by any means, but nothing spectacular.

Mediterranean Tuna Panini– Repeat. These were Seth’s exact words the other night when I made this… “This one of my favorite things you make.” Enough said.

Granola Bars– New Recipe. This is another Alton Brown recipe. I wanted to try and make my own granola bars for a couple reasons. #1 Store bought granola bars are pricey #2 Store bought granola bars aren’t that good or filling or healthy. I wanted to make my own granola bars so I could control all those variables and I have to say my experiment worked pretty well.

There were a couple changes I made to this recipe. I couldn’t find hulled raw sunflower seeds at the grocery store, so I just left them out. Also, I tried using agave nectar in place of honey. For my dried fruit I used a mixture of regular and golden raisins, dried cranberries and I believe there were some dried blueberries in the mix as well. These turned out pretty well. They are more of a soft granola bar and mine were a bit crumbly, but not too bad. I read reviews on the recipe that said these were hard to cut or really crunchy… I think this may be the difference between the honey and agave, but I’m not sure. I’ve already bought ingredients to make a second batch and I think I’ll try using honey this time to see which I like best. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Ok so update on that last paragraph. I made a second batch of these with honey and they turned out even better I think. I let them cool in the pan this time and I couldn’t get them out. So, I nuked it in the microwave for a minute to soften it up and then it came out… in pieces. I would suggest baking this then right away (before it cools) dump it out onto a cutting board and press it together/shape it and then let it cool.

p.s. These were made in a 9×9 pan and I cut them into 8 bars- using these proportions the granola bars have about 400 calories, which is a good sized breakfast. Perfect for my drive to work!

One Response to “Today’s Special: Turkey Soup, Basil Pesto Pasta, Fajita Burgers, Chicken w/ Chive Sauce, Mediterranean Tuna Panini, and Granola Bars”

  1. Holly June 29, 2010 at 4:37 am #

    The granola bars look and sound amazing! I honestly might get in the kitchen here real soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

