Roasted Cod with Warm Tomato-Olive-Caper Tapenade

24 Nov
I had a bag of frozen cod in my freezer I needed to use up so I decided to try this. Quite frankly I was a little disappointed, but I think it was mainly the fish’s fault, not the tapenade. The fillets ended up being very small and thin, so they didn’t bake up very well. Actually, can I be frank? I don’t like to bake fish. It’s just so BORING. I much prefer to have a nice golden flavorful crust on the outside of my fish from searing it in a cast iron pan. That would have made this recipe about a million times better. Plus, it’s faster than baking it anyway!
 
Bonus tip: Do not buy fish that isn’t frozen. Ok, you can buy fresh fish if you live in a beach town next to the ocean. If you live inland at all, always buy frozen fish. Why? Because frozen fish was frozen pretty much as soon as it was caught stopping the aging process. The non-frozen fish you can buy WAS frozen and has already been thawed.  And who knows how long it’s been sitting there in its thawed state. Ew. Plus it’s so easy to defrost fish. Just stick it in a plastic bag and place in cold water for about a half hour or so. Done!
Leave a Reply

