Chicken Enchiladas

1 Dec

The last time I made these enchiladas my Internets wasn’t working so I had to kind of make up the recipe. This time around I was able to follow the recipe, although I have to say a combination of the recipe and MY way would be better. I thought the recipe was kind of weird in the sense that all the ingredients that are listed are put into the filling and none are reserved for the top of the enchiladas. It doesn’t tell you to save any of the cheese for the top and yet at the end of the recipe it tells you to sprinkle the tops of the bare tortillas with cheese. Hmm.

So, if you are going to make these, I suggest two changes. ¬†Use 2, 15 oz cans of green enchilada sauce- use one for the filling and split the other, putting half of it in the bottom of the baking dish to place the enchiladas on and pour the other half on top of them. Also, in addition to the 1/2 cup of cheese for the filling, you will also need about another cup or so for the top. I’d say make sure you have about 2 cups of cheese for the whole recipe, just in case. Oh, and to make these enchiladas extra delicious, use a rotisserie chicken. You will not be sorry!

Go to Recipe

2 Responses to “Chicken Enchiladas”

  1. shawna December 19, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

    So funny, I made these again a couple weeks ago and realized I forgot to say “put sauce on top!” at the end. I agree about putting sauce on the bottom of the pan, too. Mine were glued to the bottom after baking, despite the liberal use of Pam. Do you use corn or flour tortillas? I tried flour this time around and although I like the texture, I prefer the corn taste.

  2. Karen @ Gravy Training December 19, 2010 at 7:48 pm #

    The first time I made these I used white corn tortillas. This last time I used flour (a fancier home-made style I purchased that I normally love). Oddly enough I preferred the white corn tortillas hands-down. The flavor was much better!

Leave a Reply

