Crock Pot Chicken Broth

1 Dec

After making turkey stock and realizing how easy it is, I decided to make my own chicken broth with the carcass from my rotisserie chicken I used for the Chicken Enchiladas this week. The problem was, I didn’t have several hours to stay up and monitor the cooking process with it being a weeknight and all. So, I started clicking around on the Internets for a better option and as soon as I saw this recipe, I knew I had a winner. Throw all the bones and junk in a crock pot and just let it cook overnight? Yes please!

I did tweak this recipe just a tad. It says to use pieces of actual chicken meat with the bones in. I just used the bones, skin, and drippings from my rotisserie chicken, no raw chicken meat. I was able to use up some celery that was getting floppy but I didn’t have any carrots so I just left those out. Also, as a tip from the turkey stock recipe I used before, it said to leave the onion skins on to give the broth a nice color, so I just rough chopped my onions and threw everything in. I also used some fresh thyme that was past its prime instead of the basil (I thought thyme would taste better anyway).

After dumping everything in the crock pot, I turned it on low and then in the morning came back to it, strained it, and poured it into a pitcher and stuck it in the fridge. Holy crap, this was seriously so easy to do. And it used up all my produce that was on its way out! This is definitely going to be my go-to broth making recipe from now on.

(Um, you don’t get a picture of chicken broth because there’s not really much to look at.)

Go to Recipe

Leave a Reply

