Crock Pot Pulled Pork

8 Dec

As far as I can remember, this is the first time I’ve ever made my own pulled pork. I thought this particular recipe would mesh well with my work schedule as it was supposed to cook for 12 hours. There is a little bit of prep work involved, but nothing too crazy. Just mixing up a dry rub and putting it on the meat to marinate overnight. I ended up cooking my roast for 10 1/2 hours on low and it was fabulous! It turned out perfectly tender and shredded very easily. This recipe makes a nicely seasoned pork with a smokey, spicy flavor. If you want the saucy pulled pork sandwich shown here, you’ll need to add some BBQ sauce to the meat. I like KC Masterpiece Spicy BBQ sauce.

Oh also… I’m not getting up on a high horse here… more of a tip per se. Regular hamburger buns and such (think Wonderbread) are OK, however… try out the sandwich and hamburger buns from the bakery in your grocery store instead. They taste so much better and you’ll be amazed at how much it improves the overall execution of your recipes.

Go to Recipe

One Response to “Crock Pot Pulled Pork”

  1. savorysimple December 17, 2010 at 1:07 pm #

    Slow cooker pulled pork is one of my favorite weeknight dinners. I can prep everything in the morning and it’s ready to go when I get home. So easy!!! I love using Open Pitt BBQ Sauce.

Leave a Reply

