Chicken Pot Pie

14 Dec

Ever since I discovered rotisserie chicken and Crock Pot Chicken Broth, I’ve been in an endless cycle:  buy rotisserie chicken, make broth, find recipe to use broth, recipe uses chicken, buy rotisserie chicken, make broth, find recipe to use broth, etc. etc. Not that this is a bad cycle mind you. Have you ever bought one of those rotisserie chickens at the grocery store? Holy crap. They are amazing. It’s all I can do to not eat the entire thing while I’m “de-meating” the chicken (term from The Blue Muse). The last couple weeks those babies were on sale for $2.50. At $2.50 I’d have to be an idiot not to buy one. What was I talking about? Oh yeah, this post was supposed to be about Chicken Pot Pie. I used some of my crock pot chicken broth for this. And a rotisserie chicken. There is now another batch of chicken broth in my crock pot.

I knew home-made chicken pot pie on a weeknight would  be a bit overzealous, so I decided I’d simplify the process by purchasing the pie crusts. I’ve used frozen puff pastry sheets before with great success, so I used them again for this recipe. Now, I don’t know if I’m just dense or what, but this recipe called for 2 pie crusts and it sounds like it tells you to put both of them on top of the chicken pot pie. I didn’t really want double crust on top of my 9×9″ pan, so I rolled one of these crusts out and laid it in the bottom of the dish, poured the filling on top, and topped with a non-rolled crust (it was already the perfect size).

I was a bit worried the carrots, potatoes, and bottom crust wouldn’t cook right, but man was this stuff good! Everything was cooked perfectly and the crust was amazing! If you’re in the mood for chicken pot pie, this is a great option!

Go to Recipe

One Response to “Chicken Pot Pie”

  1. Shawna December 16, 2010 at 11:53 pm #

    Yay for de-meating!! Thank you for the recipe, too. I’ve been looking for a good pot pie.

Leave a Reply

