Creamy Ham and Rice Soup

16 Dec

It’s a little difficult for two people to make it through a full spiral ham without some help, so I thought I’d use some of the leftovers from last night’s meal for this soup. The great thing about this recipe was that it used up a bunch of other stuff I already had on hand including some half and half, chicken broth (the cycle is broken!), green onions, and carrots.

I’m normally not a huge fan of rice, especially in soup, but this stuff turned out really good. I had Seth get some rice started before I got home from work, so this recipe went together really fast. In fact when I told Seth dinner was ready he said, “Really?” as if he’d expected to wait another half hour or so. Oh, also, the recipe says to use shredded carrots, but I thought that would look gross, so I just thinly sliced mine. They cooked through and worked just fine!

Go to Recipe

Leave a Reply

