The Best Chicken Tortilla Soup

21 Dec

This is one of the few recipes that has made it into my regular rotation. It really does take a lot for me to make something twice, let alone on a regular basis.

I’ve had a lot of taco/tortilla soups in my day, and most of them have been severely lacking in substance and flavor. The standard I have come to expect from most of these recipes is a bland watery bowl of broth with a couple pieces of ground beef in it and maybe a sprinkling of corn kernels. You will not get that here. In fact this is one of the only recipes I make that Seth doesn’t add anything to. Not even Tapatio! Or salt! GASP!

I don’t normally do the crock pot version of this soup… usually just the 1 hour simmer on the stove method. And it still has a great flavor. The amounts of chilies and peppers in this is recipe is spot-on. This is spicy, but not overwhelmingly so. In case you’re tempted to go all minimalist on this one and skip the garnishes (cilantro, avocado, lime, tortilla chips, and cheese) DON’T! The addition of these things really makes this soup and it won’t be near as good without them! Try this, you will not be sorry!

 

Go to Recipe

3 Responses to “The Best Chicken Tortilla Soup”

  1. Babygirl December 22, 2010 at 1:27 am #

    Cool post

  2. Rachel December 22, 2010 at 10:06 pm #

    This does look very delicious.

    However.

    I have a complaint.

    I need you to plan my menus for me. Is there a place for weekly menus? Where have they gone? I need them!

    • Karen @ Gravy Training December 23, 2010 at 9:11 am #

      Very interesting suggestion Rachel. I will take it into consideration, present it to the board, and then make a final decision as to whether this would be a wise venture for this establishment. 😀

Leave a Reply

