Gingerbread Waffles (Updated Version)

24 Dec

What better way to enjoy the weekend before Christmas than with Gingerbread Waffles? As soon as I saw these I knew I had to make them. I love the spices used in gingerbread: cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, and cloves. These waffles were very easy to make and had a great flavor, not too overwhelming, but not too subtle either.

Maybe it was because the batter was more dense or something, but these took about twice as long to cook as my regular waffles and didn’t come out quite as crunchy. I also thought the texture was a bit on the spongy side.

Original Gingerbread Waffle Recipe

I really liked the idea of these waffles, but they weren’t quite to my liking as far as the texture was concerned. So, I combined the gingerbread elements of this recipe with my waffle recipe. I tested this version out today and it was just as delicious as I’d hoped. These still took a bit longer to cook than the plain waffles, but they turned out more crunchy on the outside than the original gingerbread waffle recipe  and had a lighter, more delicate texture.

Karen’s Version of Gingerbread Waffles

Ingredients:

1¾ cups flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 tablespoon sugar
½ teaspoon salt
1½ teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground ginger
¼ teaspoon grated nutmeg
¼ teaspoon ground cloves

3 large eggs, well beaten
4-16 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
1½ cups milk
3 tablespoons unsulfured molasses

Directions:

In a large bowl whisk together flour, baking powder, sugar, salt, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, and cloves.

In a small bowl whisk together eggs, butter (the more butter you use the crunchier they’ll be, I find that 8 tbsp is perfect), milk, and molasses.

Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients and pour in the egg/milk mixture. Gently whisk together just until combined.

Baking time and amount of batter will depend on your individual waffle maker. I use about a cup of batter for 2 waffles and mine take about 4-5 minutes to bake. I like to bake mine until they are a dark golden brown. Cooking spray usually isn’t needed if you use 8 tbsp or more butter in the batter.

Leave a Reply

