Yummy Honey-Wheat Bread (Bread Machine)

1 Jan

This is a recipe I got from my sister, Corinne.  I don’t think I’d ever actually made it before today. I did tweak the recipe just a hair by adding in 3 tablespoons of wheat gluten (1 tbsp. for each cup of flour). My dough also looked really sticky after it came together so I added about another 1/2 cup of white flour. My bread took a long time to rise… about  1 1/2 hours, and I probably could have let it go for a full 2 hours. Maybe using a white bread flour instead of the regular all-purpose flour would help with that. Anyway, the end product turned out great. Wonderful texture and very moist.

  • 1 1/8 cups luke warm water
  • 1 1/2 cups white flour
  • 1 1/2 cups wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 tablespoon dry milk
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons shortening
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons yeast

Put all ingredients into bread machine in the order recommended by the manufacturer. Select Dough cycle. Press Start. (Keep an eye on your dough and add more flour if it looks too sticky.)

Once dough is finished, shape into a loaf and put in lightly greased bread pan. Let rise until almost double (30 minutes). Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Bake for 30-35 minutes.

3 Responses to “Yummy Honey-Wheat Bread (Bread Machine)”

  1. junie January 4, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

    Kay!

    I wanted to say, I have read lots and lots of these recipe posts and accompanying interesting sweet anecdotes–my ‘puter sends me a happy announcement whenever there’s a new one!–I just haven’t left (visible) comments on many due to fears of never getting sleep or back to my so-called life. 😀 But I THINK comments galore and send them into the stratosphere.

    I think you’d be the most amazing sweet capable cook for rich people ever. Or, poor people, even more! Only cooking for the poor wouldn’t pay the bills, I think? My auntie Norma told me about a friend of hers in the City (SF) who cooks six or seven meals a week (I think) for various families, and delivers them… takes vacations too, the whole deal, it’s her… FREAKING JOB! YUM! Think of the massive gratitude one’s efforts would receive; AND the money moolah cash!… Yum.

    I’m very curious about this bread recipe and how it compares to Paulie’s various wheaty breads. Must remember to return to this post and discuss with him.

    Loves–

    me

    • Karen @ Gravy Training January 6, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

      I’ve got mixed feelings on whether or not I’d like to be a chef for a living. On one hand it could be fun, especially being a cook for a specific family or something (not so much in the restaurant business…). But on the other hand, I think it would make it more stressful because if you cook something that sucks, they’d be pissed off and they’d want you to find something else for them to eat (not a bowl of cereal). I did have a dream once that I was interviewing to be the private chef for these rich people and I was really worried about it. I think I’ll just stick to cooking for fun. 😀

  2. junie January 8, 2011 at 12:32 am #

    Really? You mean you didn’t think the worry dream was a good sign?

    ;D

    I wouldn’t want your wonderful art and joy to be ruined for you. (Paul feels the same way about his art and the un-fun prospect of cashing it in and then hating it. Plus the whole poverty thing.)

    And most of all, selfishly glad you save your energies for Seth and your foodie followers! And people you visit! And bring heavenly homemade GRAPEFRUIT marmalade to! God that was good. Tasted of love.

Leave a Reply

