Salsa Dip

2 Jan

The other night Seth and I wanted a snack, but there wasn’t much around the place to eat. Somehow I managed to scrounge up enough ingredients to make this salsa dip from my America’s Test Kitchen cookbook, which we promptly inhaled along with some tortilla chips. I honestly thought the original recipe was a tad on the bland side. I ended up doubling the amount of salsa it called for and added probably 1/2 teaspoon or so of Chipotle Chile Pepper to give it a deeper, more smokey flavor. This recipe was a little different in that the cookbook gives you a “dip base” to which you can add a couple more ingredients to make the kind of dip you would like. I chose the salsa version, but there were several others to choose from like Jalapeno-Lime, Olive Dip, Sun-Dried Tomato and Basil, etc. so you could easily take this base recipe and add anything you like!

Creamy Dip Base

Makes about 1 1/2 cups

  • 3/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 3/4 cup sour cream
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • Desired flavorings
  • Salt and Pepper

Stir all of the ingredients together and season with salt and pepper to taste. Refrigerate the dip for at leastย 1 hour to allow the flavors to blend. The prepared dip will keep, covered and refrigerated, for up to 2 days. Season with additional lemon juice, salt, and pepper before serving.

To make salsa dip add the following ingredients to the dip base. If you want to make this recipe as it was originally written, use only 1/2 cup salsa and omit the Chipotle Chile Pepper.

Salsa Dip

Use fresh lime juice instead of lemon juice in the dip base.

  • 1 cup salsa, drained thoroughly (oops, I just realized I never drained mine! HA!)
  • 2 tablespoons minced fresh cilantro
  • 1/2 teaspoon Chipotle Chile Pepper

5 Responses to “Salsa Dip”

  1. Paul January 5, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

    Ooh, that looks good! Although I like the term “desired flavorings”! I think all of my recipes are going to start using that. “How do I make lasagna? Well, desired ingredients of course!” Oh, and I think I am going to take you up on your offer to host others’ recipes. I have a great non-sweet sweet potato bread recipe that I should share. I also want to talk Heidi into doing the same. She has turned into a super-experimenting super cook!

  2. Karen @ Gravy Training January 5, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    Lol “desired flavorings” is quite hilarious. It looks less weird with the real life recipe in hand because there’s a whole page of “desired flavorings” recipes ๐Ÿ˜€

    Also sweet potato bread sounds awesome! I’ve got a goal to make bread more often and I’ve never tried to make potato bread, so it would be fun to try!

    HEIDI… why have you not shared with me the expanse of your culinary geniusness? A super-experimenting super cook? You’re way above my level. I just follow recipes!

    • junie January 7, 2011 at 10:27 am #

      Darling Karen!
      I HAVE been telling you! For months! Since summer I’ve been sending you telepathic messages! Do you not receive telepathic messages?

      ๐Ÿ™‚

      But for serious every time I’ve tried something big and new I TOTALLY think of you over & over. And tell you all about it. And take a picture. (Only the pictures are with a physical camera, not just a telepathic one. They’re stored on the magical computer we have.) And in my long email that I sent you right before Xmas I mentioned having “cooking stories” to tell you… That was what those stories are about.

      Anyway I DO want to share the details, I’m just backed-up. I’m story constipated.

      Which reminds me! It might be revealing more than your readers want to know, but, Paul and I discovered something about me last night. While his parents were here we had CILANTRO (Paul’s mommy washed and put it in a vase on the table for constant use) and there were FERVENT discussions on whether you can use “too much” cilantro. Paul’s parents thought NO WAY CAN YOU USE TOO MUCH. Paul said Yes Way, I definitely think you can put too much cilantro in something. And his parents were all, WHAT. I MEAN THERE IS NO WAY YOU CAN USE TOO MUCH… They pretty much said that every time Paul opened his mouth.

      I didn’t offer an opinion ‘cuz it clearly disturbed them to hear hints of “too much…” EEK! Don’t hit me! ๐Ÿ˜€ But last night Paul and I were talking and I confessed, there HAVE been times when I thought that cilantro was overpowering… For instance, the last visit with his parents, we all smothered our omelettes with it and it overwhelmed the gentle savory omelettey flavors. And left me a little sick to my stomach. So I held off on the big C until in California, when to my wondering eyes my brother made FISH SALAD USING CILANTRO LIKE LETTUCE. I was worried but it was DELICIOUS.

      So we’ve discovered that I sometimes like a little, sometimes a lot. I can go both ways. I’m bi-cilantral.

      That’s the end of that story but I was reminded of a tidbit about Paul’s daddy. He and I both LOVE lots and lots and lots of garlic. And agree that it never gets old; virtually impossible to use too much (although sometimes I leave the garlic subtle just to savor some of the other stuffs… you know, variety and all that); and we also agree that it can go in just about everything. But Paul’s daddy takes it a bit further–claiming it can go in… everything. Yeah, pretty much, I remember saying–everything except fruit salad.

      EVEN FRUIT SALAD Cal claimed. And he reiterated that THROUGHOUT THE WEEKEND. Garlic would go GREAT in fruit salad! Yum!

      So there you go, Karen! The experts have spoken! Garlic would be GREAT in fruit salad! And don’t be stingy with the cilantro, either! It looks so pretty next to the marshmallows.

      Love,
      me

      p.s. I’m kidding about the marshmallows. When making fruit salad, if we add anything but fruit, we follow your recipe exclusively. For some reason the horror of the possibility of not making Kay’s fruit salad was something I couldn’t leave on the page.

  3. junie January 7, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    p.s. Cal did actually claim that cilantro would also be a good addition to the Garlic Fruit Salad.

    Not kidding.

    • Karen @ Gravy Training January 7, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

      Just today at lunch there was a debate over cilantro. It seems to be one of those ‘love it or hate it’ things. I for one love it, although like you and Paul said, I think you can definitely have too much. Cilantro has a pretty strong flavor and it can be overpowering. What’s the point of making something when all you can taste is cilantro? Might as well eat a cilantro salad! In any case, I’d say I’m bi-cilantral also. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Also, I forbid you to put cilantro, garlic, and marshmallows in my fruit salad. Ew.

      p.s. I can’t believe you’d been taking PICTURES of all your amazing food creations! I must see them!

Leave a Reply

