Chicken Cacciatore

5 Jan

I’m going to be upfront and honest here. This was not a fast meal. It took probably an hour and a half to make. However, most of that was cooking time, not active “doing stuff” time. Also, this made a ton. I actually used 10 chicken thighs so we’ll probably be eating this stuff for the next week. Which is fine. Because it was delicious!

Seth especially loved this. He raved and raved the whole time he was eating it about how good it was and how it had all his favorite ingredients and how it was just perfect. I believe he may have said he wanted to marry it but I may have imagined that. Which, I mean, that would be totally fine with me. If I’m going to be in a polygamous marriage, I want my competition to be a chicken dish.

This totally reminded me of an Italian version of my Jambalaya recipe. Maybe because I made it in a huge skillet and there’s chicken thighs and bell peppers involved. But I think this recipe would appeal to a wider audience than the jambalaya just for the fact that the ingredients are more “normal” and it’s not spicy (unless you add a lot of crushed red pepper). If you’re looking to feed a large crowd or just want a lot of leftovers, this is a great, tasty option.

Go to Recipe

4 Responses to “Chicken Cacciatore”

  1. shawna January 6, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    Ooooo, I haven’t made chicken cacciatore in ages. Thank you for the recipe! We’ll see if Mr. T wants to marry it, too.

  2. shawna January 7, 2011 at 9:00 am #

    Okay, so in case you were wondering, crushed tomatoes and diced tomatoes are not the same thing. Ack! I didn’t have any whole or diced, so I subbed in a big can of crushed and I think it changed the whole flavor of the dish. Not bad mind you, but definitely more tomato-town and not as pretty to look at. 😉

    • Karen @ Gravy Training January 7, 2011 at 9:37 am #

      Yeah I learned that the hard way that crushed tomatoes are more like tomato puree. Very misleading I think!

      • shawna January 7, 2011 at 10:59 pm #

        Yes! And after spending so much time on the recipe, I am irrationally mad at myself. Oi. 😉

Leave a Reply

