Green Ranch Hand Eggs

16 Jan

I saw an adaptation of this Rachael Ray recipe over at Just the Tip this morning and decided I needed to try it. This was super easy to do and fit the “healthy breakfast” criteria I was looking for. Plus it was a good way to use up more of those small white corn tortillas I’ve got in the fridge,  speaking of which are my new favorite thing.

I tweaked this recipe just a bit (as usual) but overall the outcome was very similar to the recipe. I subbed a small yellow onion for the red as it’s what I had on hand. I also changed the egg cooking process a little. I poured 4 whole eggs into my 12″ nonstick skillet all at once, poured over about a 1/2 cup or so of green sauce, and sprinkled it all with cheddar cheese. Then, covered the pan with a lid and let it cook on medium-low for about 4 minutes. This method works really well as it heats the sauce, melts the cheese, and cooks the eggs perfectly all at once.

If you’re serving this to kids, you may want to leave the hot sauce out of the beans as it was pretty spicy… it can always be added later to taste.

Go to Recipe

One Response to “Green Ranch Hand Eggs”

  1. junie January 22, 2011 at 2:14 am #

    Green ranch hand eggs… Hearing that makes me wonder if maybe the workers should start washing their hands.

    I mean, really. Whatever your field workers have been touching… well, it’s fine to get dirty and all, but those sorts of messes shouldn’t actually be discoloring their food.

    This post just confirms my secret concerns about that Rachel Ray person.

    ;P

Leave a Reply

