Sage-rubbed Pork Tenderloins with Sage Butter

17 Jan

I really like making pork tenderloin because it’s a great cut of meat, it doesn’t take very long to cook, and it can serve several people. Plus, there are so many different flavors that pair well with the pork, so it’s fun to experiment with.

I’ve made a few pork tenderloins in my day, but man was this good! Probably my favorite thus far so that’s saying a lot. The sage rub was full of flavor, but wasn’t overwhelming and the sage butter added just a little extra bit of juiciness. 

I didn’t realize the recipe called for 2 tenderloins, so I just used one 1.5 pounder and it turned out great with no tweaks to the recipe. Ok so maybe I tweaked one little tiny thing: I didn’t grill it. It was cold outside and neither Seth nor I wanted to be the one to have to go and monitor the grill, so I just used the good old oven. In order to get a similar result, I seared the outside of the meat on a hot cast iron skillet on the stove, then finished by baking it in a 350 degree oven for about 40 minutes. 

As a last note, if you don’t want to spend the money on fresh sage for this dish, it would still be delicious without it. The sage butter was good, but I’m not sure it was worth the extra cost.

Go to Recipe

Leave a Reply

