Open-faced Egg Sandwich with Thyme Pesto and Lemon Cream

19 Jan

I know I’ve told you a million times how much I love thyme, but I’m going to tell you again. I LOVE THYME. When I saw this recipe I was like, You can make pesto out of THYME? WHA?! 

I was a little scared of this. The lemon cream was especially scary because I used plain Greek yogurt instead of crème fraîche and 1 tsp. lemon zest (and a tiny bit of lemon juice… probably 1-2 tsp.)  instead of the preserved lemon. I tasted it after it was all blended together and was like, huh. Not sure about this stuff. But I put it in the fridge and finished making the rest of the components. Each thing tasted just ‘OK’ on its own, but when I put all of it together, YUM! This was a super fast meal and was a great option for dinner on a hectic night full of running errands.

p.s. I don’t know what it is about me and my egg sandwiches lately, but there’s something about a fried egg with savory ingredients that makes them taste so much better than they do with pancakes and syrup. In other words, fried eggs for dinner? YEAH! Fried eggs for breakfast? gag

Go to Recipe

4 Responses to “Open-faced Egg Sandwich with Thyme Pesto and Lemon Cream”

  1. junie January 19, 2011 at 7:18 pm #

    I’m sorry, I can’t even read this post until I utter the words that are going round and round in my brain:

    Open-faced club sand wedge. [ummm… drool…]

    • junie January 19, 2011 at 11:26 pm #

      Paul elucidated me on the sound I was going for; it’s more of a gurgle (gggllkrll) than the uuggghmmm I was thinking.

      I stand corrected… Or, more like, I sit corrected.

  2. junie January 19, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    After reading the description, I have to say: I don’t think Homer Simpson would like that, unless he’d had several beers first.

    But I would LOVE it. Without beer. But with wine. Something that would stand up to the thyme and lemon… one of those slightly spicy reds, I bet.

    God I wish you were making dinner tonight. I’m hungry, and it’s my turn to cook, and all I want to eat is just what YOU made recently!

    I think we may be having egg sandwiches tonight, I wonder why? 😀

    Hey… Also, they’ve recently added them as an option to the organic produce delivery–fresh local cage free eggs! On our doorstep. But a little pricey. BUT they were taken from the hens THIS MORNING.

    Cool, huh?

    • Karen @ Gravy Training January 20, 2011 at 8:17 am #

      I totally recognized that as Homer Simpson! I can hear him saying it in my brain right now!

      Also, that is so great about the eggs! I have been buying the “cage-free nesting hens” eggs since we had our little discussion about buying “nice” meat and such and I really like them! They’re really not that much more than the regular eggs at just over $2.00 for a dozen. I’ve had several people in the grocery store checkout line question me about them. It makes me feel so nature friendly 😀

Leave a Reply

