Red Velvet Cupcakes

20 Jan

Looking to make something that looks fancy, tastes great, and doesn’t take all day? Try these! I’m not usually a big fan of cupcakes, but who can resist these beautiful little things?

You can make these however you want, but I’ve found that the quantity of cupcakes and frosting is a bit out of proportion. If you make a standard sized cupcake, this recipe will make 24 cupcakes, not 16 as stated. I also cut the frosting recipe in half. You may think this would leave me with a thin skiff of frosting on each. Nay nay. For me, that amount of frosting is plenty. I guess you could always make the full recipe if you don’t believe me. I mean, it’s not like extra frosting is a bad thing, right?

Go to Recipe

3 Responses to “Red Velvet Cupcakes”

  1. Paul January 21, 2011 at 10:13 am #

    Oh snap! Even though I have made this comment before, I am nothing if not repetive. You need to cut one of those open and take a picture. Red velvet always looks like it used to be alive to me and should be bleeding. Like maybe Seth just shot them this morning.

    And, I know I am in the minority, but I am not a fan of frosting. When it comes to cake, the less the better for me. 😉

    • Karen @ Gravy Training January 21, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

      Are you saying I’m not capable of shooting my own cupcakes? Because I totally could. So long as they’re far enough away that I can’t see their big brown eyes…

      Actually, I’m not big on frosting either. This stuff is pretty good, not too sweet. But as you can see, I only put half as much as I was supposed to on there. Don’t get me started on that lard frosting on store cakes. Ew.

  2. simplynutritiouskate January 21, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

    I LOVE red velvet and these look extremely delicious

Leave a Reply

