Swiss Chard and Turkey Sausage Over Polenta

25 Jan

I know this sounds like a bunch of weird stuff you’d never cook, and that’s fine. I realize this is a bit out of the ordinary. That’s not to say it wasn’t good though. I did have to tweak this recipe a bit because I couldn’t find instant polenta or swiss chard. I used kale and some pre-made polenta. I cooked everything pretty much the same as the recipe described except for the polenta. I cut mine into slices, pan-fried them a bit and put them underneath the kale and turkey sausage on the plate. I believe that instant grits could have substituted for the polenta and I may do that next time. I think I liked this one more than Seth did. It may have been too much new stuff all in one go. But I really liked everything in this. I’ve recently found that turkey sausage tastes great (not “healthy” or weird as you’d expect) and kale is a nice alternative to other leafy greens like spinach. So if you don’t make this exact recipe, at least give them a shot in something else!

Go to Recipe

2 Responses to “Swiss Chard and Turkey Sausage Over Polenta”

  1. Paul January 26, 2011 at 8:58 am #

    Being from an Italian family, I love Polenta. Love, love, love it! Question though, when you say “pre-made polenta”, do you mean the stuff in the tubes? That look like fat sausages, only yellow? ‘Cause I’ve always been curious if those are any good.

    • Karen @ Gravy Training January 28, 2011 at 9:42 am #

      Yes! That’s exactly what I mean! I wasn’t exactly sure what to call it. I was a bit skeptical of that stuff too, but the texture wasn’t gummy or weird and I thought it tasted good! I noticed there were a few different flavors available, but I just got the plain one.

Leave a Reply

