Provencal Sauteed Chicken with Rosemary and Garlic

5 Feb

This is the perfect example of a recipe that looks fancy but is super simple to prepare. You know what I liked about this recipe? It forbade me to touch the chicken for two separate ten minute intervals while it was cooking. That’s 20 minutes of doing other things besides cooking! Just for the record, I skipped the step at the end that tells you to cover the pan and let it finish cooking for a couple minutes. Why? Because covering the pan would then cause the chicken to be steamed, thus ruining the crispy skin that was so effortlessly perfectly executed. Plus, the chicken was done at that point and didn’t need more cooking. This was a great weeknight meal that even impressed the UPS man.

Go to Recipe

4 Responses to “Provencal Sauteed Chicken with Rosemary and Garlic”

  1. junie February 6, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    The UPS man? Do you usually invite him to dinner?

  2. Shawna February 21, 2011 at 8:44 pm #

    Tried this last weekend… OH WOW. Loved this one! Of course, I did burn my garlic though. Does the recipe call for the garlic to stay whole? I pressed mine and it burned like crazy. Luckily I had more rosemary to add so it all worked out. Yum!

    • Karen @ Gravy Training February 22, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

      Yeah the garlic is supposed to stay whole (at least the recipe never says to press it), but mine still burned. My rosemary got a bit overcooked too. Next time I would probably wait and add both of those during the last 5 minutes of cooking, especially since I was using a cast iron skillet which tends to be a bit hotter.

  3. Shawna February 26, 2011 at 9:20 am #

    That’s a good idea. I’ve been using a new all-clad pan and the thing runs so much hotter than my normal pans. I haven’t figured out the right heat settings yet and things are a little crispier than normal around these parts!

Leave a Reply

