Greek Turkey Burgers with Tzatziki Sauce & Cucumber Salad

23 Feb

This is yet another recipe from Just the Tip. I’m always a bit hesitant to use turkey in recipes that are traditionally made with beef or other meats. I’m not sure why as they almost always turn out great. If you’re still a bit skeptical about giving ground turkey a shot, I guarantee this recipe will knock your socks off. I could not believe how much flavor this burger had. Everything about it was perfect… juicy meat, a savory sauce, and a bit of freshness and crunch from the fresh spinach. And it’s healthy without tasting that way! This was my first experience with the Orowheat Thin Buns and I thought they looked kind of gross. Nay nay. Wow… perfect complement to this burger. I actually wanted to eat the leftover burgers today for lunch, now that’s saying something!

Greek Turkey Burgers with Tzatziki Sauce

Serves 4

For the tzatziki:

  • 1/2 cucumber, seeded and grated
  • 6 oz  greek yogurt (fat free)
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • pinch of sugar
  • 2 tbsp fresh dill, minced
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Mix all ingredients in a small bowl. Chill.

For the burgers:

  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese
  • 1/4 cup sun-dried tomatoes, drained of any oil with paper towels
  • 1/2 cup fresh baby spinach leaves, chopped
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Heat a grill pan over medium-high heat for several minutes until very hot.
  2. Combine the turkey, feta, sun-dried tomato, spinach and seasonings in a mixing bowl until just combined.
  3. Spray the grill pan with non-stick spray, form the meat mixture into four patties, and cook for 7-8 minutes on each side until the internal temperature reaches 165 degrees. Let rest on a plate covered with foil for 5 minutes before serving.
  4. Garnish with tzatziki (recipe below) and additional spinach leaves and serve on sandwich thins.

 

Oh, also if you’re looking for a quick, easy side-dish to use up the rest of the cucumbers and dill you bought for the tzatziki sauce, try this little number. It’s very simple, but a great compliment to the turkey burgers!

Cucumber Salad

Serves 2-4

Ingredients:

  • 1-2 large cucumbers (or 4-5 lemon cucumbers), peeled, quartered lengthwise, then sliced crosswise
  • 1-2 Tbsp chopped fresh dill, basil, or Thai basil*
  • 2-3 Tbsp seasoned rice vinegar
  • Salt and pepper to taste

*To chop the basil, chiffonade it by stacking the leaves on top of each other, rolling them up like a cigar, and taking thin slices from one end to the other.

Combine all ingredients in a bowl, toss to coat. Serve immediately, or make ahead (up to a couple of hours) and chill.

Recipe from Simply Recipes

3 Responses to “Greek Turkey Burgers with Tzatziki Sauce & Cucumber Salad”

  1. junie March 1, 2011 at 12:13 am #

    GUESS WHAT WE HAD FOR DINNER?! ALL THAT STUFF! And it was GREAT! I already quite liked turkey burgers, it was nice greeting an old friend… LOVED the spinach, a tasty surprise… and SO yummed the yummy cuke salad… and I LOVE the thin buns! We’ve had them once before & I so prefer them to fat buns. Oops. You know what I mean. And the garlicky sauce was so messy and slurp-worthy and great.

    But the best surprise was Paul saying afterwards that it was all YOUR recipe! Well, except the fried potatoes. (He made burgers and cuke salad and potatoes. It was our version of french fries and hamburgers! HA!)

    Good stuff! So fun that we had your dinner!

    • Karen @ Gravy Training March 5, 2011 at 8:30 am #

      Oh! I didn’t even see this comment until today! How did it get by me?

      Yeah! I’m so glad you liked these! Whenever I make stuff like this I always have my good friends Heidi & Paul in mind. It makes me happy to find good recipes that aren’t red meat based.

      You said “fat buns.” HA!

      • junie March 10, 2011 at 1:03 am #

        It’s so neat to me that you think of us in connection with these type of recipes! I bet we’re the first readers to jump up and down with joy over lentil-based dishes. 😀

        I’m happy with your Healthy Recipe Finds, too!

        This meal really WAS a Happy Meal! HA HA HA! IT WAS. I told Paul he could take my share of the leftovers to work with him and now I’m kinda regretting it. I hope he makes this again soon; especially the cuke salad. It feels like such a sunny SUMMERY thing to eat at the bun-end of winter. 😀

        loves–hj

Leave a Reply

