Whole Roasted Brussels Sprouts

8 Mar

Apparently I’m one of the weird people who love brussels sprouts. And I can’t figure out why they’re hated so much, because they’re so dang delicious! This was the first time I’d actually bought fresh, not frozen brussels sprouts and I’m definitely going to do that more often. So little prep was involved in creating these little gems and man were they good!

You may be wondering what the other crap in this picture is. I got a little carried away with trying new things for dinner that night…. roasted brussels sprouts with quinoa and crunchy tofu. It was edible, but not my most favorite meal ever. I may continue to experiment with quinoa and tofu, but not at the same time. So just stick with the brussels sprouts on this one.

Go to Recipe

6 Responses to “Whole Roasted Brussels Sprouts”

  1. chefshellina March 8, 2011 at 10:45 am #

    You are so brave! That whole meal, and all its elements, would be one risk after another for me. So adventurous- I love it. What did you think about the quinoa? Do you think it would go well with a sweet theme?

    • Karen @ Gravy Training March 8, 2011 at 11:01 am #

      I thought the quinoa was good, although I just cooked it plain and added a couple things to it. I’d probably follow an actual recipe next time and give it a bigger spotlight. I’ve never actually eaten quinoa before so I wasn’t sure if I’d cooked it right… especially as far the texture goes, so I’ll need to do a bit more follow up. Mine was sticking together, not sure if that’s normal. I did think quinoa was along the lines of rice taste-wise… meaning you could pair it with a lot of different things. I don’t know that I’d make it into a dessert, but a sweeter sauce such as teriyaki might go well with it. But who knows! Maybe quinoa pie will be the new rage!

  2. chefshellina March 9, 2011 at 8:46 am #

    Hey! Follow up comment! I looked around, and guess what I found? Breakfast quinoa! (and it’s sweet!) I kid you not. Check it out. πŸ™‚
    http://eatspinrunrepeat.wordpress.com/2010/03/06/apple-pie-breakfast-quinoa/

    • Karen @ Gravy Training March 9, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

      HA! No way! That is AWESOME! I’m definitely going to try that one!

      • junie March 10, 2011 at 12:53 am #

        I’m intrigued to hear how the Breakfast Quinoa turns out. Sounds good, though! You know, we’ve had quinoa and tofu quite a few times at our house; but never together.

        Actually, we’ve had tofu countless times. I’m not so big on quinoa although that’s too bad, because I think I remember hearing that it’s dang healthy? At least compared to rice?

        And Paulie loves his B.S. (Brussel Sprouts… the other implications were unintentional, at least consciously… perhaps my own unfortunate bias against them is showing?)

        I hope you find a tofu-something you like! Paul is better at recommendations than I am; I bet he’ll have a crowd-pleasing idea in mind. I think I did your Peanut Noodles recipe with tofu once, and verily, it was good! Although if you’re used to chicken, the substitution of tofu might just be weird for you.

        The End.

        πŸ˜€

      • Karen @ Gravy Training March 10, 2011 at 8:09 am #

        Well, on a positive note, the tofu I made was “crunchy,” not the soft jello-textured stuff I’d had in the past, which was definitely a plus. But, the recipe I used said only to salt and pepper it, which wasn’t enough. It kinda tasted like salt and peppered cardboard. I think tofu would be much better if it were marinated first, or even if it had some sort of sauce on it. So I’ll probably do that next time.

Leave a Reply

