Sautéed Turkey Cutlets with Tomato, Basil, and Caper Pan Sauce

13 Mar

Last week I went crazy and decided to do some weird make-your-stomach-less-puffy diet. I had a pre-made list of foods I needed to eat that week and bought every single item on the list. Not only was my grocery bill $50 higher than normal, I ended up with a bunch of bad meals that were less than appetizing. I followed the prescribed diet for one day. And that was enough. I’d eaten way tastier, much healthier, cheaper food in the past than this crap. So I threw the diet plan out the window and used the ingredients I’d bought to make my own “diet” food.

This is one of the recipes I made to use up some turkey cutlets and grape tomatoes I’d bought. It was much better than eating a bland piece of turkey, a pint of plain grape tomatoes, and a small scoop of tasteless brown rice. Bleck. I’d rather be puffy! The good news is, not only was this recipe delicious and full of flavor, it was healthy too! One of my favorite features of the America’s Test Kitchen Family Cookbook I got this recipe from, is it has two whole pages full of pan sauces that pair well with poultry. This means I can choose to make whichever sauce sounds good that night with the ingredients I happen to have on hand. Because I had a ton of tomatoes, basil, and capers, I chose this one!

Serves 4

Start to Finish: 30 minutes

CUTLETS

  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 pounds turkey cutlets (6 cutlets)
  • Salt and Pepper
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil

SAUCE

  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1 shallot, minced (I used a small onion)
  • Salt
  • 2 medium tomatoes (12 ounces), cored, seeded, and chopped (2 cups) (I used a pint of halved grape tomatoes)
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/4 cup dry white wine
  • 2 tablespoons capers, rinsed
  • 2 tablespoons minced fresh basil
  • Pepper

For the cutlets: Adjust an oven rack to the middle position and heat the oven to 200 degrees. Spread the flour in a shallow dish.

Pat the cutlets dry with paper towels, then season with salt and pepper. Dredge through the flour to coat and shake off any excess.

Heat 1 tablespoon of the oil in a 12-inch skillet over medium-high heat until just smoking.  Add half of the cutlets and cook until light golden brown on both sides, about 4 minutes total. Transfer to a plate and keep warm in the oven. Repeat with the remaining oil and cutlets. Do not wipe out the skillet.

For the sauce: Add the oil to the skillet and return to medium-high heat until shimmering. Add the shallot and 1/4 teaspoon salt and cook until softened, about 2 minutes. Stir in the tomatoes and garlic. Cook until the tomatoes have broken down into a lumpy puree, about 2 minutes. Stir in the wine and capers, scraping up any browned bits, and simmer until thickened, about 2 minutes. Stir in any accumulated turkey juices. Off the heat, stir in the basil and season with salt and pepper to taste.

Leave a Reply

