Skillet Lasagna

15 Mar

It’d been probably 5 years or more since the last time I made skillet lasagna. Why? Well you can blame it on the Hamburger Helper. I didn’t make Hamburger Helper that often, mainly because it’s typically too salty for me, but on this occasion, I’d seen the lasagna version and thought it looked ok. Everything was fine (well as fine as Hamburger Helper can be) until after dinner clean-up time came. I looked at the leftover sauce which had now cooled in the pan and that stuff was so salty, it had actually formed salt crystals. I was horrified! And that was the last time I ever ate Hamburger Helper.

Now that you’re thoroughly grossed out…

I knew I wanted to try this homemade (and much healthier) version of skillet lasagna as soon as I saw it on America’s Test Kitchen. A great lasagna taste without the time? Count me in! Now I did make a couple changes to the recipe, of which I would highly suggest. The recipe calls for a “meatloaf blend” of meat, or 1/2 hamburger, 1/2 ground pork. I’d never seen that in the store so I just bought mild Italian sausage. I’m glad I did because I think it would’ve been kind of bland otherwise. The other thing I would change is to use a no-cook lasagna noodle instead of the regular ones that it calls for. It said to cook the noodles for 20 minutes and mine took at least twice that long and still weren’t completely cooked through. But, aside from that, this was a great recipe and I will definitely make it again.

Go to Recipe

Leave a Reply

