Chicken Sausage with Potatoes and Sauerkraut

25 Mar

I’m a total sucker for anything with sauerkraut in it. I know, it sounds horrible, but it tastes so delicious! I thought this would be a great recipe because it was very simple and included chicken sausage. I’ve only ever tried turkey sausage which I really liked, so I figured chicken sausage would be great too.

The night I made this we’d been working on the house so we were pretty tired and hungry when we got home. I was happy to see this was a fast meal when reading through the recipe. Unfortunately the potatoes took way longer to cook than the 10-15 minutes the recipe said it would take. Maybe I cut the potatoes too thick? In any case, if you’re making this, I would suggest cutting the potatoes very thin, as in scalloped potatoes thin. That way you’re sure to have a fast dinner. If you want to keep your potatoes thicker, just know that it’ll  take about 30 minutes longer to cook.

Go to Recipe

2 Responses to “Chicken Sausage with Potatoes and Sauerkraut”

  1. Rufus' Food and Spirit Guide March 25, 2011 at 10:50 am #

    Cookbooks always seem to underestimate the cooking time of chicken and potatoes. The kraut looks great though.

  2. junie April 19, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

    I bet Paulie would adore that. He loves all sausage-and-taters meals. AND I believe he’s a fan of the sauerkraut, too.

Leave a Reply

