Smothered Tempeh Sandwich

15 Apr

This meal was definitely along the experimental lines for me. I’d never had tempeh before, so when I couldn’t find it at the grocery store, I decided to substitute a firm tofu instead. I don’t really know if those two things are anything alike, so I wasn’t sure how this would turn out.

In order to better prep the tofu for a sandwich, I first cut the block into 4 horizontal slices (each about the size of a piece of bread). I then pressed each slice with some paper towels to get rid of excess moisture. Then into the frying pan they went to get a little browned and crispy on either side. I pretty much started at the beginning of the recipe after that– removed the tofu from the pan and cooked up all the mushrooms and onions, etc.

To my surprise this turned out really well. Seth said it was the best tofu he’d ever eaten, so that was a plus. I still think tofu is a bit on the bland side, but it’s a great substitute for meat if you’re looking for a vegetarian option.

Go to Recipe

One Response to “Smothered Tempeh Sandwich”

  1. junie April 19, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

    I’ve never had tempeh either!! I’ve been really wanting to try it. And, I’ve never even considered putting tofu in a sandwich. What a neat new option. Fantastic.

    UGH! WHAT will I make for dinner tomorrow? I think there’s a simple solution to my devastating problem: you need to start FedExing me your leftovers. 😀

Leave a Reply

