Santa Maria Tri-Tip Roast

18 Apr

If you’re looking for a great cut of meat to cook on the grill that’ll also feed a lot of people, consider a tri-tip roast. The tri-tip has a great flavor and doesn’t require hours of cooking to make it tender. I believe this was about a 3 pound roast and it took 30-40 minutes. I personally like a Santa Maria Tri-Tip which means there is a great blend of flavors used as a marinade of sorts. I’ve previously purchased my Santa Maria Tri-Tip roasts at our local butcher, but this time I wanted to try to make my own. It wasn’t hard at all and I thought the flavor blend tasted exactly like that on the roasts I’d purchased. It would have been even better had I not used Walmart meat. Not near as good as the stuff I get from the butcher.

Also, this recipe tells you to cook the roast different than I’m used to. It looked a little aggressive to me, so I’ll tell you my favorite way to cook the roast. Heat up your grill with all burners on high… you want the grill to be super hot. Clean the grill and oil the grates. Then place the roast on the grill and sear each side until there’s a nice brown crust. After all the sides are seared, turn off one side of the grill. Place the roast on the side of the grill that is turned off, leave the other burner on high.  Cook the roast for about 20 minutes and then flip it over so the opposite side is facing up. Continue to cook the roast to the desired temperature (I usually go to about 140-145 degrees so there’s some pink in the middle). Let the roast rest for about 10 minutes before slicing. TA DA!

Go to Recipe

One Response to “Santa Maria Tri-Tip Roast”

  1. Rufus' Food and Spirit Guide April 18, 2011 at 6:44 am #

    Hmm,that doesn’t look all that amazingly juicy and succulent and tasty. I can come get the leftovers if you want.:)

Leave a Reply

