Pimento Grilled Cheese

13 May

This was another Pioneer Woman recipe that piqued my interest. I love me some grilled cheese sandwich and green olives are one of my favorite. Why not combine the two?

While this recipe was good, I think a minor tweak would make it even better. I typically use cheese slices on my grilled cheese and this one called to use shredded cheese combined with the olive mixture. This made the sandwich incredibly messy to eat and all the cheese kept dripping out. This is no good. So, here’s what I would do next time… keep the cheese and olive mixture separate. I would put regular cheese slices on the sandwich then spread the mayo/olive combination on the bread. I think this would make the sandwich much more eater-friendly and bump this one up a notch in my grilled cheese sandwich recipe file.

Go to Recipe

4 Responses to “Pimento Grilled Cheese”

  1. Paul May 13, 2011 at 7:52 am #

    I have to admit, creative grilled cheese sandwiches are the awesomest. Although this one would make me hesitate. I love olives of all kinds, but I just don’t know. Plus Heidi would never eat it. She does not get along with olives. She is antiolivite.

  2. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide May 14, 2011 at 9:03 pm #

    Pimento is just so HUGE down here. Even the swankest place in town serves it. Only, at lunch mind you.:) Great looking sandwich.

    • Karen @ Gravy Training May 17, 2011 at 9:53 am #

      Wow I’m totally trendy and didn’t even know it! Isn’t that the definition of “cool”? (Don’t answer that.)

Leave a Reply

