Golden Summer Squash Soup

27 Aug

I know. Who in the hell makes soup in the summer? Me apparently. But it uses summery ingredients and tastes delicious so it’s ok. Trust me.

This stuff really didn’t look super appetizing as I was making it. Chunks of squash floating in chicken broth don’t exactly please the eye. BUT, after it was pureed and some thyme, corn, and goat cheese were added, this soup looked like a gourmet meal. And it was. I’m sure there are many of you out there with loads of yellow squash on your hands. This is a great way to use a little of it. This made two bowls of soup, so enough for the main course for two people. If you’re cooking for the family, you’ll definitely want to at least double the recipe. Heating up the stove is worth it for this one. I promise.

p.s. This soup could easily be made vegetarian by using vegetable broth instead of chicken broth.

Go to Recipe

2 Responses to “Golden Summer Squash Soup”

  1. Savory Simple August 27, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

    I make soup all year round. It’s so delicious! This looks great!

  2. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide August 28, 2011 at 4:40 am #

    I’ve been up North where people are fanning themselves at 90 all week. I could go for soup! Oh, I actually did order it one night! This looks fantastic.

Leave a Reply

