Football Field Dip

18 Sep

While  planning a football party for the big Utah vs. BYU rivalry game this weekend, I stumbled upon this Football Stadium monstrosity.

I immediately wanted to make it just because I thought it would be funny. Now, our little get-together wasn’t going to be that big and although the complete stadium looked awesome, it was  lot more work than I wanted to put in and would have been way too much food. So, I took things down a notch and made just the football field. I did change a few things to suit my tastes, but feel free to follow the original recipe if you so desire (I’ve also seen the stands made with Rice Krispie Treats instead of Twinkies). Don’t be intimidated as this was incredibly easy to do.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 2 packages guacamole ( I used Wholly Guacamole… not sure how big the packages were)
  • 16 oz. sour cream
  • 12 oz. salsa
  • 2 15 oz. cans refried beans
  • 1 15 oz. can nacho cheese or queso dip
  • 4 oz. Monterey Jack or Cheddar Cheese, divided
  • 2 long Slim Jims
  • Sliced olives
  • Green onions
  • Toothpicks

First I put together the green part of the field. I used 2 cans of refried beans mixed with 3 tablespoons of sour cream and about 1/4 cup of salsa. This makes the dip a little softer to dip into even if it’s been refrigerated. Although, if you wanted to use straight-up refried beans it would be just fine. Spread the beans out in a 13×9″ pan, leaving about 2-3″ on either end for the end zones. The original recipe used straight up guacamole for the field, so go ahead and do that instead if you’d like… you’ll just need way more guacamole.

Top the beans with about 2 oz. of shredded Monterey jack cheese (probably 2 cups or so). Over that spread a layer of sour cream ( I didn’t use all 16 oz…. probably closer to 8 oz… just put on as much as you like), then top it all off with the guacamole. I used a cake spatula to make the spreading easier and used a flat plastic scraper to push up against the edges of the beans on the end zone sides so they wouldn’t spread out too much while putting each layer on.

Pour the salsa into one end zone and the nacho cheese in the other. Put a couple spoon fulls of sour cream into a small zip-lock baggie and cut a small hole in the corner (to use like you would a pastry bag). Draw line a line to divide the nacho cheese and salsa from the guacamole. Draw a center line down the field and as many other yard line markers as you’d like. Mark the yard lines with numbers if you want. Or don’t. Doesn’t matter.

Cut each Slim Jim into 4 pieces (I actually used a little less than 1 full Slim Jim for each goal post) and hook the posts together with toothpicks (I broke mine in half) to form your goal posts. Cut a chunk of Monterey jack cheese (sort of wide and thick) and stick the goal post to it to anchor it. Put 1 goal post in each end zone, pushing it down into the nacho cheese or salsa to anchor it. Place sliced olives and sliced green onions on either side of the 50 yd. line for your players and you’re done! TA DA!

Now, I wouldn’t recommend making this too far ahead. If you want to get some of the work done ahead of time, you could do the beans through the sour cream and build your goal posts, but that’s about it. Guacamole will start to turn brown as soon as it’s exposed to air, so you’ll want to wait until just before you’ll need the dip to add the guacamole and yard lines. This is sure to be a big hit so give it a shot!

2 Responses to “Football Field Dip”

  1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide September 18, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

    I wouldn’t want to eat it. It’d ruin the masterpiece. I’m sure it’s tasty though.

  2. junie November 20, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    Ridiculously cute.

    And now I feel all caught up. I’ve seen lots of these posts but there were a few I missed. It’s funny how much having to log on prevents me from commenting! I think thoughts your way all the time, though.

Leave a Reply

