Buttermilk Biscuits and Sausage Gravy

12 Oct

What could be better on a cold weekend morning than biscuits and gravy? Nothing. That’s what. I don’t make biscuits and gravy very often because it requires planning ahead… for breakfast. I’m always so focused on planning dinners that I forget about breakfasts. But every once in a while, this makes a special appearance. And every time it does I think “I should make this more often!”

Also, a tip for making biscuits: if you’re making roll-out biscuits, make sure the tool you use to cut them out has a sharp edge. Using a glass doesn’t usually work too well as it pinches the dough together instead of cutting it. This will make it so the biscuits don’t puff up like they should. Find something with a sharper edge or fork out a couple of dollars (or less) for a real biscuit cutter. Trust me, it’s worth it! (Or you can do what I did this time and use pre-made store-bought biscuits! HA!)

Go to Gravy Recipe

2 Responses to “Buttermilk Biscuits and Sausage Gravy”

  1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide October 12, 2011 at 7:55 am #

    I never make this at home, but it’s one of my favorites when I eat breakfast out. I should do this for company some time.

  2. trixfred30 October 12, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

    LoL. I just read a blog from an American wondering why the British serve up breakfasts with baked beans. I replied what’s with the Biscuits and Gravy thing – thats just as strange to us? I mean in the UK the biscuits are called scones and we serve them with strawberry jam and cream – go figure….

    PS Ive tried biscuits and gravy when I visited Wichita it was amazing! (but not good on the waistline!)

Leave a Reply

