Banana Bread Pancakes

17 Nov

When I saw this recipe I knew I had to make these. I love banana bread.  It’s one of my most favorite things ever. And these were so good! I think I did over-cook my first batch just a little too much and they were a lot drier than the 2nd set… so take heed. Also a couple other notes… this calls for pastry flour in the ingredient list, but there are suggested substitutions further down in the recipe. I used half wheat and half white flour. The last thing is this recipe says it makes 12 pancakes. Mine made about 6, 6″ pancakes. So unless your pancakes are super small you’re not going to get 12. Anyway, those things aside, these cooked up really well and were super fluffy. They were also delicious eaten cold and plain as leftovers… like a slice of banana bread! Yum!

p.s. I have my iTunes set to random for all 6131 songs and it just happened to select Tori Amos’ “Pancake” while I was writing this post. Even though the song was crappy (and I don’t think it even mentioned pancakes…) it’s still a sign you should make these.

Go to Recipe

5 Responses to “Banana Bread Pancakes”

  1. frugalfeeding November 17, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

    These look great. You should check out my pancake pan on my recent pancake recipe – it’s awesome.

  2. trixfred30 November 17, 2011 at 4:39 pm #

    Banana bread – takes me back to childhood – ma made fantastic banana bread!

  3. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide November 18, 2011 at 10:39 am #

    There really is a Tori Amos song for everything!

  4. junie November 20, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    Crap that looks good. And I’m excited that whole wheat flour works–almost all the baked things I make are all or mostly whole wheat. (My taste buds were set by my hippie, granola-and-homemade yoghurt-making father. I actually didn’t taste white sugar until I was four years old, I think.)

    I have unconditional love for Tori Amos. She’s a fellow pianist–how can I not? Plus I’m pretty sure we’re exactly equally brilliant at it. So.

  5. junie November 20, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

    Actually I might be slightly better. ;P

    But she does compose more than I do.

Leave a Reply

