White Bean and Ham Bone Soup

16 Feb

This was my first time using dried beans. I hate to say it, but it might have been my last. I soaked the beans all day long and after cooking them for an hour (as stated in the recipe) they were still crunchy. So, I cooked them for 2 hours. And then we ate semi-cooked bean soup. And then I continued to cook the leftovers for another hour after which they still weren’t quite done. How can this be?

Anyway, despite that, this soup was actually still really good. I used a ham bone I’d frozen at Christmas and just bought some diced ham. I would totally make this soup again, but maybe just use canned white beans this time (unless I can find a good way to cook dried beans). I love me some white beans by the way. They kick all the other beans butts. They have a great consistency very creamy and smooth with a nice mild flavor.

Oh I also took the advice from this recipe of making some biscuits to go along with the soup. This was a fabulous idea. And I highly HIGHLY recommend you use the Barefoot Contessa recipe for biscuits that I’m about to give you. I’ve made a lot of mediocre biscuits in my day but these are AWESOME.

Go to Recipe

3 Responses to “White Bean and Ham Bone Soup”

  1. Denise February 16, 2012 at 8:44 am #

    I’m not sure how you cooked the beans but if you didn’t use your pressure cooker, try it next time. It’s always worked worked well for me.

    • Karen @ Gravy Training February 16, 2012 at 8:59 am #

      Yeah I just soaked them all day then simmered them in the pot with the rest of the soup like the recipe said. I’ll definitely have to use the pressure cooker next time… especially since I still have a whole bag of dried beans left! Have you ever tried pre-cooking them and freezing them to use later?

  2. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide February 16, 2012 at 10:04 am #

    Oh no. I’m glad you liked the soup, but sorry the beans didn’t cook right. We always use dried because they’re so much cheaper. The ones that take forever to soak are the Cannellini ones. Chick peas take awhile too.

Leave a Reply

