Easy Egg Rolls

7 Mar

I failed miserably at my first attempt at making egg rolls. Several years ago I found a recipe for oven-baked egg rolls so I wanted to give it a shot. My first mistake was using spring roll wraps instead of egg roll wraps. I looked all over the Asian food isle in the grocery store and could only find spring roll wrappers. I figured they’d probably work. Tip: Spring Roll wrappers and Egg Roll wrappers ARE NOT THE SAME. I found egg roll wraps about a year later in the produce section… by the tofu. Refrigerated. DUH. Anyway, needless to say baked spring roll wraps are not very good. So learn from my failure.

Much to my delight this second attempt at making egg rolls couldn’t have gone better. It was super easy and all steps went off without a hitch. My uncooked egg rolls didn’t unravel when putting them in the oil (thanks to the egg wash!) and they tasted great!Ā  I only made 8 because I used some leftover egg roll wraps from earlier in the week, but I wished I had more as Seth almost scarfed down the whole batch. Needless to say this recipe is a keeper!

Go to Recipe

7 Responses to “Easy Egg Rolls”

  1. frugalfeeding March 7, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

    Congrats on the second attempt. I adore the look of those, they really are beautiful!

  2. trialsinfood March 7, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

    They look great! I like the fact that they are baked rather than deep-fried.

    • Karen @ Gravy Training March 8, 2012 at 9:34 am #

      Actually.. this is a different recipe than the first one I tried.. figured I’d go for the traditional unhealthy fried egg roll this time! šŸ˜€

  3. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide March 8, 2012 at 5:50 am #

    Glad you did a take two. These look great.

  4. Shawna (bluestmuse) August 13, 2012 at 10:02 am #

    I am attempting these bad boys today! Thanks for the recipe. šŸ™‚

  5. Karen @ Gravy Training August 13, 2012 at 3:13 pm #

    Sweet! I’ve got my fingers crossed they turn out great for you!

  6. Scott January 4, 2014 at 4:36 pm #

    Aha – found it! Will let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

