The Pie Episode

14 Mar

In honor of Pi Day, I thought it only fitting to re-post my gem of a collection of pie recipes!

 
 
 
This recipe is from America’s Test Kitchen. It’s actually fairly easy to make and turns out so pretty! I use the same crust as is shown on the apple pie recipe. This pie rocks my world.
 
 
 

I’ve made this pie several times and it always turns out really good. Although, I prefer to double the cinnamon amount. Isn’t it pretty?

 
 
 
I use the filling from this recipe and the banana graham crust from this recipe. This banana cream pie is seriously the best. Oh, and if you sprinkle a little lemon juice on the banana slices it’ll keep them from going brown.
 
 
 

Easiest pie in the whole world. Takes about 20 minutes to make from start to finish. I use this graham cracker crust. Also, don’t bother using key limes, regular ones taste just as good. Actually the stuff in the bottle tastes good too, but I like to get the fresh limes so I can use the zest. Use 1 drop of green food coloring to make it look pretty, but not too fake and weird.

 

I used this whipped cream on both the banana cream and key lime pies. One batch (using 1 pint of whipping cream) made enough for 2 pies. Tastes way better than Cool Whip.

3 Responses to “The Pie Episode”

  1. Holly December 1, 2009 at 8:20 pm #

    I am impressed with your baking talents! Those pies look delicious!

  2. It's Me December 5, 2009 at 7:26 pm #

    Man, I missed out. Those pies look yummy!

  3. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide March 14, 2012 at 7:16 pm #

    Oh wow, my taste buds just overloaded looking at all these. Great picks!

Leave a Reply

