Today’s Theme: Vegetarian!

17 Mar

It seems to be an increasingly common trend to go vegetarian. While I don’t have any serious aspirations to turn to this lifestyle permanently, I do have a great appreciation for a meatless meal.  And I’ve made enough vegetarian meals to realize the common problem of the vegetarian lifestyle:  finding a healthy variety of satisfying meals that don’t make you miss the meat. Oh and it helps if you can buy the ingredients at a normal grocery store instead of Bob’s Granola Barn. So, for all of you out there looking for a wholesome meatless meal, here is a collection of my all-time favorite vegetarian recipes!

 

Wisconsin Cauliflower Soup

This was an incredibly delicious recent find. It’s a great way to get in some cauliflower without feeling like you’re eating a bunch of cauliflower. The recipe doesn’t make a whole lot, so if you’re cooking for a family, I’d definitely double it.

 

Vegetable Lasagna

When I saw this recipe I was super skeptical. Vegetable lasagna? Really? Sounded like a bland mess to me. But I tried it anyway and was glad I did. Seth especially loved this and happily ate the leftovers for days.

 

Balsamic Grilled Portobello Sandwiches with Goat Cheese & Roasted Red Peppers

I know this one sounds really fancy and kind of weird, but it’s  seriously my favorite vegetarian meal of all time. It’s so easy to make and  so delicious I can hardly stand it. This one is probably a little more expensive to make because of the goat cheese and portobellos, but I’m telling you it’s worth it.

 

Bean & Cheese Enchiladas

This recipe is not only vegetarian, it’s also cheap, easy, and one of my go-to regulars. I like to take the easy way out and just use a can of refried beans, which are super easy to find in a vegetarian version. If you want to get fancy, you can garnish the enchiladas with sour cream, guacamole, lettuce, and tomatoes.

 

Vegetarian Reubens with Russian Dressing

This is one of those vegetarian recipes where you truly will not miss the meat. It’s very filling and full of flavor. If you love sauerkraut as much as I do, you’re sure to love this!

 

Gnocchi with Zucchini Ribbons & Parsley Brown Butter

If you’ve never tried gnocchi I highly recommend it. It’s a delicious type of pasta made from potatoes. It cooks super fast and you know it’s done when it floats! This recipe is my favorite gnocchi recipe. It’s really fresh and so beautiful. It helps to have a mandolin to cut the zucchini ribbons, but a peeler works great too. Give this a shot, I promise you’ll love it!

 

Peanut Ginger Noodles

I typically don’t like peanut sauces much because they’re a bit overwhelming, but this one is different. It’s got a nice subtle peanut flavor with a little bit of heat to give it some interest. Plus this is just about the fastest meal I’ve ever made.

 

Open-Faced Sandwiches with Ricotta, Arugula, and Fried Egg

I know this looks a little weird, but this recipe is the one that made me realize I actually like fried eggs! The ricotta with the fresh spinach (yes I subbed spinach… mixed greens also work well) and egg yolk are just so perfect together. This is a fabulously easy recipe and super cheap to boot!

3 Responses to “Today’s Theme: Vegetarian!”

  1. emmycooks March 17, 2012 at 1:54 pm #

    Yum! These all look great. I a lot (almost all vegetarian) and am always looking for inspiration–thanks! I’m especially intrigued by the veggie reuben although I usually think a great sandwich is so much work to make that I might as well buy them. 🙂 Not that it’s easy to find a great veggie Reuben to buy….

  2. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide March 17, 2012 at 4:00 pm #

    That portabello burger’s calling my name!

  3. Seth March 19, 2012 at 4:57 am #

    Great post Karen! So many delicious and satisfying vegetarian meals with nary a mention of the dreaded tofu! Plus, the shout out to “Bob’s Granola Barn” made me laugh. 🙂

Leave a Reply

