Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcakes

18 May

A perfect specimen

This was another Pinterest find for me and I’d been waiting for just the right time to make them. A friend at work had a birthday coming up so I “tricked” him into choosing these cupcakes as his birthday treat. I’m not going to lie… I was a little worried these things wouldn’t turn out. I haven’t had the best luck frosting cupcakes using a pastry bag and with the final product being dipped, I was fully prepared for failure. Luckily the recipe gave some great suggestions for frosting success, namely using a giant piping tip instead of a regular sized one. This made a huge difference and I was amazed at how easily I was able to make a beautiful swirl on top of the little cakes.

The only tricky part to making these was the buttercream frosting. There were a few steps involved, none of which I’d ever done before so I wasn’t quite sure if I was doing it right, namely beating the heated egg white/sugar mixture to the proper texture. The recipe says to beat it until it has a shaving cream consistency. I don’t know that I’d say that description was entirely accurate as the sticky concoction never really looked like shaving cream (such as your typical whipping cream process). For me it went from a runny, sticky liquid to a fluffy sticky mixture. Kind of like marshmallow fluff. Other than that, everything went off without a hitch and I was pleased to see that although I guessed a little on some of the steps, everything turned out how it should.  Oh also, it’d be better to underfill your cupcake tins a little than to overfill… anything hanging over the top of the cupcake liners makes frosting and dipping much more difficult. I’d shoot for filling them no more than 2/3 full.  I would also recommend doubling the recipe as I did, just to give yourself a couple of practice cupcakes (you’ll need them!), especially since this recipe only makes 10 cupcakes.

One of the dipping casualties, but still delicious!

So, if you’re looking for a special treat or just have a hankering for some peanut butter and chocolate, give these babies a try! They were just as delicious as they look!

Go to Recipe

Leave a Reply

