Waffle Wars

20 May

I’ve used the same waffle recipe from The Joy of Cooking for years. It’s easy to make, has a great texture, great flavor, and the waffles are nice and crispy on the outside. So, I was more than a bit skeptical when my sister, Annie claimed to have the best waffle recipe ever. Mine was definitely better… Right? I decided the only thing to do in this situation was to make Annie’s recipe and see for myself which waffle really was supreme.

Annie’s Waffle Recipe

With strawberries and whipped cream

Annie’s waffles plain

 

I actually ended up making her recipe on two separate occasions. The first time around I didn’t get a picture of the waffles until they were half eaten and it didn’t seem fair to put it up against mine. We actually ate them two different ways as well. The first time with just regular butter and syrup, and the second time with strawberry sauce and whipped cream. As far as the recipes go, they are almost identical except for a couple of differences… my recipe uses all butter, Annie’s uses oil. Her recipe also separates the eggs into yolks and egg whites, which then need to be beaten into stiff peaks and gently folded in. So there’s a little extra work there. So what’s the verdict? Well… it’s not so clean-cut as that. Let me explain.

Annie’s recipe actually produced slightly crispier, lighter textured waffles. I think the crispness was due to the oil and the lighter texture to the egg whites. However, her recipe was more time-consuming and required use of a beater for the egg whites. I thought the flavor of the oil came through too much in the final product, but Seth said he didn’t mind it. I prefer the buttery flavor of my waffles and think they hold up better to toppings such as the strawberries without getting as soggy. Plus the recipe is just easier to make.

My Waffle Recipe

With bananas and pecans

My waffles plain

So? What recipe did I like better? I think I’m going to stick with my tried and true recipe. However, I’m a little curious as to how a couple tweaks might improve it. Maybe next time I’ll try a half oil/half butter waffle and/or beat the egg whites to make a lighter final product. It’s probably going to take several experiments to find out just what produces the perfect waffle, but I’m up for the task. I mean, there are worse things in life than sampling waffles, am I right?

Want to try the recipes and decide for yourself? Check ’em out and let me know what you think!

6 Responses to “Waffle Wars”

  1. Annie May 20, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    Helpful tip: I found that if you set the waffles on a cookie cooling rack after you take them off the waffle iron, they stay crispy and don’t get soggy.

    • Karen @ Gravy Training May 20, 2012 at 11:21 am #

      Oh yeah, I totally tried that last time I made waffles… but I put the rack in the warm oven so they wouldn’t get cold. I’d just watched the America’s Test Kitchen episode where they made “the perfect waffles” and that’s what they did. I doubt I will ever make their recipe though… too impractical. You HAD to use club soda or something like that. HA! Like anybody keeps that on hand! They really get finicky with their recipes sometimes.

  2. Shawna (bluestmuse) May 20, 2012 at 9:51 am #

    Oh, I hate to say it but you’re both wrong. *I* have the best waffle recipe: http://thebluestmuse.blogspot.com/2009/12/raised-belgian-waffles-recipe.html 😉 I will have to try yours though since mine has to be started the night before.

    • Karen @ Gravy Training May 20, 2012 at 11:17 am #

      A waffle recipe that uses yeast? WHA? Well ok… I’ll try it if I have to. 😀 We’ll see if I can actually remember to make this the night before… that’ll be the real obstacle! I do give this recipe extra props with it being from Utah and all. And your picture makes it look fabulous!

      • Shawna (bluestmuse) May 22, 2012 at 9:31 am #

        I’m telling you… try it. I don’t make these every Christmas morning (and sometimes in January and June and July) for nothing! I’m pretty sure the yumminess comes from the Utah roots. 😉

  3. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide May 21, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

    That’s it. I need a waffle maker.

Leave a Reply

