Stuffed Jalapeños

10 Sep

Our harvest of jalapeños from the garden was quickly growing out of control. What the heck was I gonna do with 20 jalapeños? I didn’t want to keep ignoring them until they went bad. Then it came to me: STUFFED JALAPEÑOS. It could either be a blessing or a curse. While we did eventually pay for it in the end (literally), eating several of these babies was worth it. Just try and pace yourself…

p.s. I cut my jalapeños in half instead of cutting off the top third. Also, a grapefruit spoon worked really well for scraping out the seeds. And finally, wear gloves if you have them. I was feeling the burn on my hands all night despite washing my hands a million times. Oh and remember: DON’T TOUCH YOUR EYES!

Go to Recipe

4 Responses to “Stuffed Jalapeños”

  1. Junie September 13, 2012 at 9:51 pm #

    NO! You did NOT just make stuffed jalapenos! Why do you not live down the street from me? The world is tragic and unfair. (Also–“pay for it in the end–literally” elicited several hearty laughs. Also–Paulie bought me gloves, mainly for habaneros, but I’m often too lazy to put them on. I’ve discovered that it I put Dawn straight on the tips of my hands, right before washing them, that that will often help. (dawn cuts oil, including hot oil, i guess.)

    Guess what? I might be in SLC next week. I know–crazy spontaneous travel–NOT what I am known for! There is a parrot we’re deciding on. I’d say it’s about 50/50 that we’ll decide to get it. If I do, I’ll be traveling over your way next… like, Weds or Thurs or something! Don’t let Sylvie grow at all until I get there. If you’re around and up for it, we could spend part of a day together at the very least. I’m trying not to let my intense desire to see you guys and Sylvie sway my parrot decision. Shouldn’t make a commitment of up to 50 years on a whim, I’m thinking!

    So unfair that I got no jalapeno poppers.

    • junie September 16, 2012 at 11:22 pm #

      Eh. False alarm–not coming–YET. May still come some time in the next 9 months! Hope to. Better be poppers a-waitin’. 😛

      • Karen @ Gravy Training September 17, 2012 at 12:27 pm #

        Dang. Well, you’re welcome anytime, parrot or no parrot! And I’ll see what I can do about the jalapenos 😀

  2. Junie September 18, 2012 at 12:57 am #

    Thank you, sweetheart! I do want to visit. And want to plan ahead, with plenty of warning, to give you notice, and, time to prepare plenty of poppers in advance. And other tasty treats. Like fruit salad. And cheesecake. ;P Although I’d eat… nothing but nuts in order to see you!

Leave a Reply

