Product Review: Spam

20 Sep

Up until this weekend I had never tried Spam. I was perfectly content to go through life without sampling the cubed montage of meat. But then Seth and I were at the grocery store and he decided that we needed to be adventurous and give it a shot. I told him he could get it and try it if he wanted, but I couldn’t guarantee compliance from my end.

When we got home from shopping, Seth immediately opened the can, sliced off a piece and ate it. Then he cut off another piece and put it up to my face. After verifying that it wouldn’t make me throw up, I took a tiny bite off the piece he was holding. Not bad… but not great. I thought it tasted a lot like those Vienna Sausages. And if you look closely at the picture above you’ll see that like Vienna Sausages, Spam also has that nasty looking gel on it.

Now to be fair I did try Spam several ways. I tried it plain, on a cracker, and cooked. I did think it tasted best cooked. My honest opinion? I don’t think I’d buy it again, but it wasn’t near as terrible as I thought it would be. I really expected the worst. From now I’ll think of it as square, canned bologna.

4 Responses to “Product Review: Spam”

  1. waterfallsandcaribous September 20, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

    Its not the greatest, eh? We are currently living in Korea and we’ve been utterly amazed to discover how often it pops up in dishes here and how highly its regarded (a leftover of the war). Its a popular gift at special times in the Korean calendar – Spam giftpack, anyone?!

  2. trixfred30 September 21, 2012 at 12:13 am #

    There’s only one way to eat Spam – the bad way – battered and deep fried like its fish. I mean its not good for you anyway so what the hell…

    • Karen @ Gravy Training September 21, 2012 at 9:20 am #

      Ugh it’s too early in the day to think about all that grease! Although frying does make everything better so I’ll take your word for it!

Leave a Reply

