Product Review: Natural Jif Peanut Butter

22 Sep

image

While I don’t go out of my way to eat healthy, I do give it a nice go for the most part. Which is why when I saw that the Natural Jif Peanut Butter won America’s Test Kitchen’s peanut butter taste test, I was skeptical, but intrigued. I eat my fair share of peanut butter and was still consuming the regular Jif because I figured a little trans fats wouldn’t kill me and also because I hate the natural kind of peanut butter that you have to stir. It’s too runny and it looks gross and most importantly, doesn’t taste as good. So you can see why I was skeptical when they said that this new natural peanut butter not only tasted better than the regular stuff, it also didn’t require stirring. Alright Peanut Butter, I’m listening. You officially have my attention.

During my next trip to the grocery store, I picked up a jar of the creamy Natural Jif. I would have bought crunchy but for some reason my grocery store didn’t (and still doesn’t) carry the crunchy stuff. When I arrived home, I immediately started my own taste test. I scooped up a spoonful of each peanut butter and tasted them. To my utter shock and amazement, I too liked the Natural stuff better. It had more peanut flavor and was surprisingly much better. I thought “natural” would mean tasteless or bland or somehow inferior, but man was I wrong. Just as important, the texture was just as it should be… nice and thick, not runny or grainy and it looked just like the regular stuff right out of the bottle… no oil slick to be seen.

I have to say this new Natural Jif Peanut Butter is the best I’ve ever tasted and that first jar I purchased was gone in no time flat. Now if I can just get my hands on some of that crunchy kind, I’ll be living in peanut butter heaven. So go on, give it a shot. I promise you’ll love it even if you’re not a tree-hugging hippy!

3 Responses to “Product Review: Natural Jif Peanut Butter”

  1. bluestmuse September 22, 2012 at 2:23 pm #

    Thank you for trying this! I’m delighted it’s tasty and I will buy some once my Costco jar of regular Jif is gone. 🙂

  2. Junie September 23, 2012 at 5:42 pm #

    This might seem mildly bizarre, but I quite like the “Old-Fashioned” natural peanut butter–although I freely admit, it IS a pain to stir–but it’s what I grew up with. (I’m not as much a fan of sweet pb–except as a really great treat once in awhile.) But I noticed–to my surprise–I’m really defensive of the pb I like! I guess food is a personal thing. But, this natural Jif sounds quite enjoyable. Would love to try it!

    • Karen @ Gravy Training September 24, 2012 at 12:11 am #

      Yeah that’s probably why I don’t care for the old fashioned stuff… I didn’t grow up on it!

Leave a Reply

