Glazed Carrots with Rosemary

8 Oct

I bought some carrots that I’d planned to roast as a side dish for my crock pot roast this weekend. However… I sort of forgot about them until the last minute so I had to change up my strategy.

I needed a cooking method that would make the carrots taste super delicious in a short amount of time and found this recipe in my America’s Test Kitchen Family Cookbook. The original recipe doesn’t call for rosemary, but there were a few alternative recipe versions listed and the addition of rosemary was one of them. I’m sure these carrots would have been fabulous without the rosemary, but I’d add it if you’ve got it. It added a nice little punch of flavor that took these over the top. I’d dare say they outshined my roast & mashed potatoes.

  • 1 pound medium carrots (about 6), sliced on the bias ¼” thick
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons granulated sugar (divided)
  • ½ cup low-sodium chicken broth (can use veggie broth)
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
  • 1 teaspoon rosemary, minced
  • 2 teaspoons lemon juice
  • Ground Black Pepper, to taste

1. Bring carrots, salt, 1 tbsp sugar, and chicken broth to boil  in a 12″ nonstick skillet over medium-high heat; reduce heat, cover & simmer until carrots are almost tender when poked with tip of paring knife, about 5 minutes.

2. Uncover, increase heat to high, and simmer rapidly, stirring occasionally, until liquid is reduced to about 2 tbsp, 1 to 2 minutes. Add butter, rosemary, and remaining sugar to skillet; toss carrots to coat and cook, stirring frequently, until carrots are completely tender and glaze is light golden, about 3 minutes.

3. Off heat, add lemon juice; toss to coat. Transfer carrots to serving dish, scraping glaze from pan. Season to taste with pepper and serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

