Fast or Slow Baked French Toast

16 Oct

I had been wanting to make a baked French toast for years and this weekend I finally did it! Part of the problem with baked French toast is that most recipes require the unbaked mixture to sit in the fridge overnight. This recipe is very flexible and allows you to either cook it right away, or put it in the fridge overnight. You don’t need to be a genius to figure out I took the first option. I’m not much good at planning ahead for meals, especially breakfast.

Now to the important part: taste. Holy crap this stuff was seriously so good! I was worried it would be dry from cooking it right away, but it was far from it! It had a delicious bread pudding texture and the outside was deliciously crunchy from the baked brown sugar topping. The recipe said to top this with syrup, but I thought it was perfect as is. I’m definitely going to be making this one again!

Go to Recipe

3 Responses to “Fast or Slow Baked French Toast”

  1. junie October 22, 2012 at 1:47 pm #

    How did I miss this?! This looks INCREDIBLE. I adore adore adore bread pudding… AND I quite like French toast… Sounds like this draws on both! I don’t like super duper sweet things for breakfast–I don’t even like my DESSERT bread pudding that sweet–but even given that concern, would this wonderful mash up of yummy things be good with warmed up fruit on it?

    • Karen @ Gravy Training October 22, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

      I think this would be fabulous with fruit… In fact in the original recipe it says you can mix fruit into it before baking if you want! I personally think blueberries would be awesome, with apples coming in at a close second.

      • Junie October 23, 2012 at 1:51 pm #

        YAY!

Leave a Reply

