Slow Cooker Beer Cheese Soup

17 Oct

When I saw this recipe I knew I had to make it for football watching time on the weekend. It was very simple to make with prep consisting of chopping and browning a couple veggies and then dumping everything else in the crock pot. The original recipe calls for Progresso’s “Soup Starters” which I used (and tasted good), but I think next time I make this I’ll just use a can of spicy nacho cheese. The Progresso stuff had a hint of that “canned soup” taste that I don’t care for, plus I think the nacho cheese would up the cheesy-ness of the final product.

I’m sure many of you are wondering (like I did) if you can actually taste the beer in this beer cheese soup. The answer is a resounding YES! I used George Killian’s Irish Red, but if you want a less beery taste you could use a beer like Bud Light or Corona. I thought the balance of cheese to beer was pretty good with the George Killian’s but by all means go with a darker more intense beer if you want to kick it up even more.

Go to Recipe

Leave a Reply

