Best of 2012

21 Dec

As my culinary skills improve over the years, I find myself becoming more and more picky about the recipes I consider successful.  I went from posting everything I made, good and bad, to just posting those recipes that were good enough to be repeated. Even if the recipe produces satisfactory results, I don’t like to post it unless I know I would make it again. While this has resulted in less frequent posts, I think the quality of the items I do share has improved. I want my readers to be confident when they decide to make something I’ve suggested. I try a lot of recipes and know how frustrating it is to spend time and money on something that isn’t fabulous.

With all that said, I thought it would be fitting to go through all 70 of the new recipes I tried this year and repost those that were my favorites. It takes a special recipe to catch my attention and convince me to make it more than once and I figured if I love the recipe, you will too! So here you have it… my favorite recipes of 2012!

Fast or Slow Baked French Toast

baked french toast

 

Creamy Slow Cooker Tortellini Soup

wpid-IMG_20120820_205003.jpg

 

Barbecued Meat Loaf

wpid-IMG_20120822_131314.jpg

 

Chipotle Beef Taquitos

beef taquitos

 

Pepperoncini Beef Sandwiches

roast beef sandwich

 

Swedish Meatballs

swedish meatballs

Sage Grilled Cheese

Sage Grilled Cheese

 

Chili Mac Soup

Chili Mac Soup

 

Cheeseburger Salad

Cheeseburger Salad

 

Crockpot Korean Short Rib Tacos

013

 

Mushroom Ravioli with Garlic-Sage Brown Butter & Asparagus

Ravioli

So there you have it! It was definitely tough to choose my very favorite recipes, but each one of these is definitely a winner. Have you tried any of the recipes I chose as my favorites for this year? What did you think? Anything you liked that didn’t make the list?

If you’re interested in seeing what makes my all-time favorite list,  check out the “My Favorites” tag!

2 Responses to “Best of 2012”

  1. Junie December 27, 2012 at 12:28 am #

    I remember most of those recipes! I still want to try the baked french toast… I bet there WAS a recipe I’d vote to be included but my memory is too bad to bring it to mind! 😦 I think you should share your special sushi knowledge!

    • Karen @ Gravy Training December 27, 2012 at 8:46 am #

      What do I know about sushi? I know it’s a pain in the butt to make and isn’t as good as when it’s made by the professionals. I also know a good local place to get it. That is all. 😀

Leave a Reply

