Wild Rice and Sausage Casserole

27 Dec

sausage rice

Now I try not to be a snob when it comes to making things that use condensed soup, but I also try to only make them on occasion because of their high sodium content. So you can see why I was a bit hesitant to make this when I saw that it used not one, but TWO cans of condensed soup. But, the original poster claimed it was her new favorite casserole, so I sucked it up and made it.

This was not a fast casserole by any means. If you have to cook your rice like I did, your family will be waiting for over an hour. But if you’re better at planning ahead, you could easily cook the rice beforehand to speed things up. I  used a wild rice mix instead of plain wild rice because that stuff is freaking expensive. I wasn’t about to pay $6 for approximately 1 cup of dry rice. What a rip off. Plus I figured a mix of rice wouldn’t hurt anything and would probably add even more flavor. I also added a bit more milk to mine because it seemed too thick and gloppy… feel free to tweak as needed.

So what was the outcome of this experiment? I have to say it turned out pretty dang good. Seth really liked it. In fact, he just saw me writing this post and said, “That sausage and rice casserole was superb.” Both of us had seconds and the leftovers were quickly consumed. If you’re making this as a main dish for your family, I would definitely double it.  I’m sure I’ll be making this one again.

Go to Recipe

Leave a Reply

