Carrot Soup with Tahini and Crisped Chickpeas

8 Jan

Carrot Soup with chickpeas

When I first saw this recipe I was very intrigued. I knew it could either be horribly bad or really good. I mean, chickpeas? They aren’t exactly known for being full of flavor. But, I made it and even before all the elements came together, I knew it was going to be awesome.

My crisped chickpeas were done before anything else so I sampled some. Then I sampled some more. And more. And then I had to stop myself from eating them or else I wasn’t going to have any left for the soup. I have never had a crisped chickpea before but there were so good! I can totally see making more of these just to eat as a snack.

The next component finished was the pita chips. Holy crap. So delicious. I used toasted sesame seeds and sea salt on mine and they were just perfect. I had to hold myself back and just eat one as a tester. I would totally make these as a snack as well. I bet they’d be awesome with some hummus.

When I finally got all the components together and into the soup, I was in heaven. So much flavor in such a healthy dish was a bit astounding to me. This meal was really over-the-top. Next time I would definitely double it, especially the soup since it only made about 3 bowls. So what I’m saying is, make this! You will not be disappointed!

Go to Recipe

One Response to “Carrot Soup with Tahini and Crisped Chickpeas”

  1. Shawna {The Blue Muse} January 8, 2013 at 7:44 pm #

    I saw this recipe on Smitten Kitchen last week and didn’t even pause to consider it as a hater of chickpeas (who loves hummus. ha.) You’ve made me stop to rethink! And I have a pile of carrots to use up. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

