Croissant Breakfast Casserole

25 Feb

croissant breakfast casserole

This was yet another experiment I tried out while Seth’s sister was in town. Breakfast casseroles usually aren’t my favorite, but this one looked promising so I gave it a go. Happily this turned out delicious! Great flavor and a real crowd pleaser. It’s definitely going on my keeper list, especially for company.

Based on some comments from other reviewers, I tweaked the proportions just a bit. Since only 4 croissants will fit in a typical 9×13 casserole dish, I picked up a large disposable roasting pan at the store so I could make a larger batch. My original plan was to double the recipe, but only 6 croissants fit in the larger pan so I kind of doubled the recipe, but not for everything. Some reviewers mentioned there was too much cheese and not enough eggs, so I adjusted things to make a better proportion. Basically, I added 1 extra egg to the original recipe (or 2 eggs for me since I doubled it). I also added some bacon bits (ham would also be great). I used the doubled amount of mushrooms and egg mixture for my 6 croissants, but felt like the doubled amount of cheese was a bit much, so I just did what looked like a reasonable amount. I think because I had more eggs in mine, it took longer to bake, closer to an hour. So, if you do what I did, just know you may have to increase the baking time. As is typical with breakfast casseroles, it’s best to make this the night before and keep it in the fridge until ready to bake.

croissant pan

Now that you’re all thoroughly confused. Here’s the recipe! I’ve included a link to the original in case you want to make it the standard way. You won’t be able to fit 6 croissants in a regular 9×13 pan, so if you want to use my version of the recipe you’ll want to get a larger pan like I did, or divide it between 2 pans. As a precaution, you’ll want to start checking doneness at about 30 minutes.

My Version

  • 6 croissants
  • 2 tablespoon butter
  • 4 cups sliced fresh mushrooms
  • 1/2 cup sliced green onion
  • 10 eggs
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 ½ cups cooked crumbled bacon (or cubed ham)
  • 1 ½ cups shredded Swiss cheese
  • 1 ½ cups shredded mozzarella cheese

Directions:

Split croissants in half and place bottoms cut side up in one layer in a rectangular casserole sprayed with non-stick spray. (I used a 11 x 16 disposable pan).
Melt butter in a large saute pan. Saute mushrooms and green onion until tender and liquid has evaporated. Set aside.
Beat together eggs and milk. Pour half over croissants, layer mushroom mixture and cheeses on top, then pour over remaining liquid. Position croissant tops over the bottoms, cut side down. Cover and let stand overnight in the refrigerator.
Bake at 350°F for 45-60 minutes or until set. Cover with foil if it browns too quickly. (I covered mine after 15 minutes).

Go to Original Recipe

One Response to “Croissant Breakfast Casserole”

  1. Simply Tia February 25, 2013 at 12:51 pm #

    This looks amazing!!!!! I would definitely give this a try.

Leave a Reply

