Creamy Potato Chowder

5 Mar

bacon potato chowder

I was originally going to make this soup in the crock pot, but after looking at the recipe and seeing how fast it was to make, I just threw it together on the stove. I ended up doing 1.5 times the recipe because I needed to use up a couple extra potatoes. Which I thought worked out well as it turned out to be a better sized batch. Next time I’ll just double it for simplicity’s sake.

I made the recipe as written except for one small change. A few reviewers mentioned how they’d blended part of the soup to make it a bit thicker. I decided to do the same and just stuck my immersion blender in the pot for a few seconds when it was all done cooking. You definitely don’t have to do this extra step, but I thought it was a good tweak. Oh also, I was a little concerned when I first put all my veggies in the pot to simmer because it didn’t look like there was near enough water. But, after a couple minutes of cooking it all settled down and the extra water from the veggies brought it up to the right level. So don’t freak out if yours looks the same. It’ll be fine.

Ultimately I was very pleased with this recipe. It was super fast, cheap to make, and surprisingly full of flavor. A definite keeper!

Go to Recipe

One Response to “Creamy Potato Chowder”

  1. trixfred30 March 5, 2013 at 9:33 am #

    I so want to make this but I can’t find the bread in the shops! Looks lovely..

Leave a Reply

